What I’m Watching: Top TV This Summer

First official blog post, hey hey!

They say that television viewership declines in the summer months because people are outside enjoying the sunshine, sitting in pub gardens, going to the beach – you know, living an exciting life. I, on the other hand, have spent the summer so far watching some pretty addictive television. The quality of programming may be up to debate, but I thought today I’d share with you a list of what’s keeping me happily inside this summer.

(I actually initially wrote this post last week, and it’s just my luck that two out of three of these shows wrapped up forever in the past week, so while this is slightly outdated already, the shows are still great!)

Pretty Little Liars

ASHLEY BENSON, SHAY MITCHELL, LUCY HALE, TROIAN BELLISARIO, SASHA PIETERSE

Yes, yes, I’m basic, whatever. This isn’t really on here as a recommendation as such, but more because I felt I had to give my say on that finale, and I have been watching it religiously this summer. Anyway, I’m not here trying to argue that this is an amazing show – any PLL fan knows it’s frustrating, and ridiculous, and often makes very little sense – but it’s like a black hole. Once you start watching, you can’t stop – you need to know who A is! The final ten episodes aired this summer, and whilst not my favourite out of the seven, it did wrap up relatively well (and my babies Haleb got married!). In terms of the -AD reveal *beware, spoilers ahead* I was rooting for a Twincer (Tumblr is just so bloody clever) so I was happy and satisfied with the final reveal all in all – though that British accent was questionable, and there was still plot holes galore, but that’s to be expected with PLL. Also, can we just take a moment to fully appreciate Troian Bellisario!? That woman is a pro – even if the accent was slightly comical, the acting was second to none. Despite my many years of complaining about PLL, it was the show that defined my teenage years and I will miss watching these girls every week.  As far as teen dramas go, this was a pretty good one overall, and I’m glad this was what I had to grow up into adulthood with. Spencer, Hanna, Aria, Emily and Alison, you will be missed.

(I think I might do a post fully explaining my overall thoughts and giving it a proper goodbye so look out for that)

Skam

skam

Another show we sadly had to say goodbye to this year, Skam really was a good show. If you don’t know what it is, Skam is a Norweigian teen drama that uploads clips, texts, Instagrams etc. from the characters in real time online (i.e. if the characters are at a party at 10pm on a Friday, the clip is released at 10pm on a Friday). Each series focusses on a different character, and the show’s final one finished with Sana. There’s something about this show that really captures what it means to be a teenager in today’s society, despite being set in Norway and really being centred around the Russ tradition specific to this Scandinavian country. I just love everything about this show – the characters, the writing, the cinematography, the beautiful Norwegian scenery, the music – everything. I adored the way they ended it and wrapped everything up, even if it did leave me desperate for a Vilde season! I am a little (okay, a lot) mad that they made us think we so close to getting an Eva/P-Chris romance, but my favourites Noora and William were reunited and endgame and so freaking cute, so I can’t be too mad. Everything this show stands for and represents is so important, and the very last scene hit me right in the heart. The writing in Skam will forever resonate with me, but perhaps the quote that will stay with me the longest is the very last line – fear spreads, but fortunately so does love. All I have to say is thank you Skam.

Love Island

cam

In the words of Stormzy, “this shit is incredible“. Love Island is the show that’s taken over Britain this summer. If you haven’t heard someone talking about it, where have you been?! I am OBSESSED. If you really have no clue what it is, it’s a reality show in which singletons go and couple up with the hope of finding love, and the public vote for their favourites throughout the series. I do have to admit, I’m not sure I love this series as much as the last one, but it’s still pretty good. Camilla is my absolute fave and the past few episodes she’s got me close to tears (at Love Island, I know!). I’m so glad we have a classy, intelligent, overall lovely lady on a show like this. She’s very, very closely followed by Marcel (what a gentlemen) who I’m rooting for to win alongside Gabby (so bloody cute), and I’m also loving Montana. I’m still hoping for Camilla and Montana to couple up, because I’d vote for that. Love Island is trash TV – there’s sex on camera for god sake – but there’s some really lovely moments and Iain Stirling, the narrator, hilariously takes the piss out of the show, which is why I think it works so well. All I know is that 9pm is going to be very very boring when it finishes in a couple of weeks.

What have you guys been obsessing over this summer? Now that Pretty Little Liars and Skam have ended, I need some new TV shows, so send me suggestions in the comments!

Leave a Reply

